Valentine’s Day Biscotti…

I am so in love with coffee!!!  Lovelovelove coffee!!!  This morning while drinking my coffee for whatever reason I remember the coffee date Mr. Loveslovesloves and I used to go on.  And it made me think of biscotti.  I don’t know how or why or where that came from but the thought of the day was biscotti!!!  I decided to make some and give it a little V-Day spirit!

I found this recipe on the Land O Lakes website.  I followed the directions…for the most part.  Instead of unsweetened chocolate square I used Ghirardelli Ground Sweet Chocolate and instead of baking chips/shortening drizzle mixture I used Candy Wafers.  Give me a break!!!  It was cold and I wasn’t going to the store.  And instead of making 3 logs out of the dough I made one BIG one!!!
Vanilla and Chocolate Biscotti

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts, toasted
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup LAND O LAKES® Butter, softened
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 (1-ounce) square unsweetened chocolate, melted, cooled

Drizzle
1/4 cup real semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 teaspoons shortening
1/4 cup white baking chips

Heat oven to 350°F. Stir together flour, walnuts, baking powder, baking soda and salt in small bowl; set aside.

Combine sugar and butter in large bowl. Beat at medium speed, scraping bowl often, until well mixed. Add eggs and vanilla; continue beating until well mixed. Reduce speed to low; add flour mixture. Beat until well mixed.

Remove half of dough from mixer bowl. Add melted chocolate to remaining dough in bowl. Beat at low speed until well mixed.

Divide chocolate dough and white dough into two equal portions each. Roll each portion on lightly floured surface into 6-inch log.

Place 1 chocolate roll on top of 1 vanilla roll; shape into 10×1 1/2-inch log. Repeat with second log. Place each log 3 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake for 23 to 28 minutes or until set and lightly browned. Let cool on cookie sheet 15 minutes.

Reduce oven temperature to 300°F. Cut logs diagonally into 1/2-inch slices with serrated knife. Arrange slices on cookie sheet, cut-side down.

Bake for 14 to 18 minutes, turning once, or until crisp and golden brown on both sides. Place on cooling racks; cool completely.

Melt chocolate chips and 1 teaspoon shortening in 1-quart saucepan over low heat, stirring occasionally, until smooth (1 to 2 minutes). Repeat with white baking chips and remaining shortening. Drizzle over biscotti.

I so can’t wait to have this with my coffee!!!

This entry was posted in Kitchen Loves.... Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Valentine’s Day Biscotti…

  1. Moni says:

    Little Miss Betty Crocker!!

  2. Gena _P says:

    OMG, I want one with my coffee!!! They look so good.
    I can’t believe how easy you made that look.

    The only problem I have with them is that your too far away for me to eat any. : (

    Good Job on the biscotti. Make some and send them my way. : )

  3. Sheloveslovesloves says:

    Brought some to the boys at work! They loved it!!!

  4. I totally shared this blog with my bff Chelsea…she LOVES biscotti and coffee…She’s super excited to try this recipe! I am totally trying the angel food cake one!! I LOVE THE IDEAS!! Keep’em coming!

  5. Irma says:

    So how did it taste? I’m not a huge fan of biscotti but maybe softening it in my coffee will work. Love you!

  6. shane says:

    These were really good. im glad you like baking, but now we are getting spoiled. lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

