Easier Tres Leches (Three Milk) Cake…

He is kind, hardworking, husband to my lovely MIL, thoughtful, selfless, mechanic, caring, strong, Vietnam Veteran, loving, patient, wise, father to two wonderful boys, gracious, hardworking (I know I said it twice but he really is!)…
He is everything that equals Great!!!

My wonderful FIL’s birthday was last week.  Happy 21st Birthday Opa!!!

He is always talking about how much he loves Tres Leches cake.  So I did what any sweet daughter would do…I made him one!!!  Now as much as I would love to say I made it from scratch…I DIDN’T!!!  But let me tell you it tasted just as good!  Ask him (don’t worry FIL I won’t tell them you ate three pieces).    

I know how busy all of you are!  so I decided to give you a tasty recipe that is quick and easy.  It’s so quick and easy that in my five loads of laundry, house cleaning, cooking, and running errands I still managed to get all that done along with his birthday cake…all before dinner! 

Mr. Loves absolutely cringes at the words Tres Leches.  But because it was his papa’s birfday and his lovely wife slaved  making this cake…I can tell you he ate it and he liked it.  Now I know I tell my group all the time “you will eat it and you will like it and that’s final!!!” he genuinely liked it!  So for all you Tres Leches haters…give this one a try.  Oh but there is a secret ingredient that I use so that could be the other reason he liked it.  I will think about sharing it with you…until then here is the recipe. 

Easier Tres Leches
my little cuteness in the background working!
1 box of white or french vanilla cake mix
1 cup of milk
1 can condensed milk
1 can evaporated milk
1 box of vanilla pudding mix
1 container of whipped topping
1 jar of strawberry fruit spread/strawberry topping (optional)

Prepare cake mix according to box directions. 

Mix pudding according to speed-set method.  Then add whipped topping to pudding mixture.  Refrigerate while cake is cooling. 

In Pampered Chef Classic Batter Bowl mix together the evaporated milk, condensed milk, and whole milk.  Above is a picture of the three milks in the bowl before I mixed them.  Pretty neat!!!
I guess I can share my secret ingredient with you…

Add 1/8 cup of Vanilla Caramel creamer…I don’t usually measure so I’m guessing on how much I added.  It wasn’t much just enough to give it a little more flavor.  I know it’s a tres leches (translating three milks) but I had to do something so my group would consume this with Opa on his birthday…and it worked!!!


Once the cake is completely cooled poke holes all the way to the bottom of the pan throughout the cake with a fork or skewer.  You can always just do what I did…cut off the very top of the cake so it really soaks up the milk mixture.  Pour the milk mixture evenly over the top of the cake, be sure to pour along the edges and corners as well so the cake absorbs the milk mixture from the bottom of the pan too.


If you opt for strawberry topping, spoon over top of the cake and lightly spread.  I used the Pampered Chef Easy Accent Decorator to spread a thick layer of the whipped/pudding mixture over the top of the cake. 


Cover the cake and chill in the refrigerator for two hours or more.


Oh my greatness!!!!  My mouth is watering just looking at this picture. 

Note:  If you want to make things a little easier you can use already prepared angel food cake.  This is just as yummy!  And a tad bit healthier!

This entry was posted in Kitchen Loves.... Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easier Tres Leches (Three Milk) Cake…

  1. Irma says:

    Sounds interesting, I might have to try, but u left out the baking the cake part. Did u just bake according to directions on box?

  2. Sheloveslovesloves says:

    I did!!! First line after the ingredients. 😉 And yes, interesting and yummy!!!

  3. Gena _P says:

    The cake looks tasty but I have to say, my favorite part of this cake picture is with the little girl in the back focusing on homework. hahahaha.
    That girl is working!

  4. Lora says:

    Mmmm…. tres leches made easy…. can’t wait to try it!!!

  5. Leysly Uriel says:

    Omg it taste soooo delicious and was fairly easy to make thank you so much you saved me last night

Leave a Reply

