Easiest Spaghetti Dinner-Guest Chef & Giveaway

Sunday at dinner I asked who was cooking which days this week and all I heard was “cricket cricket”.  So I said I will cook Monday…and their response was “are you serious, you really want us to cook”.  Well hello why else would I have said anything?!?!  Little lovely mini me volunteered for Tuesday and Wednesday, and mr. loves volunteered for….”uhhh I have to check my schedule”.  So to save him I went ahead and volunteered to cook Thursday, and Friday is usually our eat out night so that really saved him this time.  Which leaves him in charge of picking where to eat Friday night.  I hate picking where to eat!  It’s not like we have many options, which makes it even harder to pick a place.  I am trying to get my little lady in the kitchen because I think it is important that she learns how to cook.  It’s called survival skills!  I cannot tell you how many chicks I have come across that don’t know how to cook and/or simply refuse to cook.  Are you freaking kidding me?!?!  Unh unh not happening in my house!


I decided to have her as a guest here today to show her cooking skills and share her favorite recipe.  She’s not really a guest in my kitchen but she rarely cooks an entire meal from start to finish.  It’s usually just a helping hand that I get with her walking off halfway through.  She and her dad share a love for pasta that I can’t even begin to explain, but take one look at my hips and thighs and I don’t have to say a thing.  And spaghetti is a weekly meal (cooked SEVERAL different ways) in our house.  Today it was cooked Lydi’s way.

Easiest Spaghetti and Garlic Cheesy Buns

1 package of pre-cooked meatballs
1 package of thin spaghetti
1 can of spaghetti sauce
1 can of mushrooms
1/8 cup of parmesan cheese
Pampered Chef Parmesan-Garlic Seasoning
Italian Seasoning
Garlic Salt
Sesame seed hamburger buns
Kraft Italian Blend cheese
Butter (preferably, I can’t believe it’s not butter)


Pour spaghetti sauce into medium pot, add parmesan cheese, two pinches each of garlic salt, italian seasoning, and PC parmesan-garlic seasoning and stir.

Add thawed meatballs and mushrooms to sauce, stir, cover, and simmer for 15 minutes.

In a large pot boil water and add a pinch of salt.  Once water is boiling add noodles.  Boil for 12 minutes or until well cooked. 

While sauce and noodles are cooking prepare the garlic cheesy buns.  Open buns and evenly spread butter.  I prefer to use I can’t believe it’s not butter.  Very lightly sprinkle with garlic salt, PC parmesan-garlic seasoning, and parmesan cheese.  Then cut into slices. 

Lightly grease pan with spray oil and put bread on pan.  Generously top the sliced buns with Kraft Italian Blend Cheese.  Heat in toaster oven on 400 degrees for about 5 minutes.  I don’t time or measure so I can’t give you exacts so you will just have to keep an eye on the bread.

By the time you are done preparing the bread and it is in the toaster oven browning and crisping, the spaghetti noodles should be done.  Remove one noodle from the pot and throw it against the wall or kitchen cabinet.  If it sticks…it’s ready!!!  Well that’s just how we check the noodles in our house.  Lol!  Strain the noodles, place them back into the pot, and stir in a little less than a teaspoon of I can’t believe it’s not butter to keep them from sticking.  You are ready to serve and enjoy your meal. 
 This was all done by my little princess! 
From gathering the ingredients to plating the food she made an absolutely delicious and easy meal.  Thank you for dinner love!!!  It was great!!!

About our Guest Chef…
She is a sweet, kind, caring, helpful young lady.  Has a love for her mom and dad, her dog, her family, and her cows.  She loves to sing and dance, ride her bike, and go camping.   She helps out occasionally with the special needs children at her school.  Hopefully she will share more of her favorite recipes with you in the future.  Be sure to leave her some love in the comments section as she follows my blog (when I let her on the computer or is overlooking my shoulder as  I type). 

About the giveaway…
I say it and I say it all the time…the Pampered Chef Parmesan-Garlic seasoning is the best seasoning ever!!!  I add it to everything.  And because I love it so much and my guest chef loves it just as much I am going to give one away.  For a chance to win you must leave a comment of what your favorite seasoning is and some of the things you use it for.  This giveaway ends Friday, April 8th at 9pm CST.  One winner will be randomly chosen and announced on Saturday, April 9th 2011.
And the winner is Shane!  Congratulations!!!

This entry was posted in Kitchen Loves..., Love Love Love Giveaways!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Easiest Spaghetti Dinner-Guest Chef & Giveaway

  1. Mr.Lovelovelove says:

    mmmmmmm yummy

  2. Gena _P says:

    Awwww, I love the guest chef!!! What a great job. I liked it so much I sent the link to several peeps (Mercedes and Anisa). AND I think I will have to make that recipe this week. Great Job guest Chef!!!!

  3. Mercedes says:

    My favorite seasoning is Goya’s Sazon. I use it for my beans and all of my Puerto Rican dishes. I love it so much that I even use it in American dishes! I can’t live without It! 🙂

  4. Moni says:

    Tell Lydi I said she’s amazing and probably a better cook then me! She’s gonna have to come visit during the summer and whip us up some of her famous spaghetti and bread. Can’t wait to taste it!! Say hello to both her and Mr. Loves from Aunt Moni!!
    Hugs and Kisses to you all.

  5. shane says:

    looks good, 🙂 keep em coming im printing them off and will give them to brandy to make for us to eat when shes at work. lol…

  6. Irma says:

    Thank you Lydi! I think we’ll make this recipe this weekend…sounds like a job for Monica. It’s so good for you to learn to cook with mommy. You’re a sweetheart, don’t ever change.
    CC, I love reading/watching you be a mom, you’ve changed, a bit, from the girl I first met and I love it. I’ll have to take my baby girl down/over and we can all make something yummy.

  7. Mayra says:

    MMMmmmmmm i also LOOOOve pasta. Let me tell you giving up carbs for lent is painful when you are a pasta lover. I use Cajun seasoning in as many things as I can. Oh and growing up we had spaghetti almost every friday. lol

  8. Tia Linda says:

    Gosh Lydi! you made that look so easy.Could you please show my kids how to make spaghetti? Our favorite seasoning is the McCormick California style Garlic seasoning, we use that on everything! Hey Lydi,you keep this up you could have your own cooking channel! Love Ya!

Leave a Reply

